posagsm.blogg.se

Switching graphics cards arch linux macbook pro
Switching graphics cards arch linux macbook pro










switching graphics cards arch linux macbook pro

First is to use the Intel Pstate kernel driver for CPU scaling. I tried a number of things to reduce the temperature and managed to find two that help bring things back into Mac OS comparable levels. Before tweaking a few things it was consistently 10 C degrees warmer than in Mac OS, and would quickly raise to out-of-control hot when doing any CPU intensive work (I triggered CPU temp throttling with a make -j8 in less than a minute). In my experience laptops running Linux tend to run hot, and this Macbook is no exception. The tips with regards to rEFInd and getting the wireless card to work during the installation process where very useful, and within an hour or two I had a bootable Debian Sid/Unstable setup, without any breakage to Mac OS. I’m a Debian man myself, so I found this particular post a useful jumping off point.

switching graphics cards arch linux macbook pro

There are plenty of how-tos out there to get the installation bits figured out. For the most part these are not distro specific, and I’m not using any high level configuration tools from a desktop environment like Gnome or KDE. Here is a summary of things learned so far running Linux on a Macbook Pro 10,1. It took a wee bit longer than I hoped to get things working as well as I wanted, but I’m happy to say the effort has been worth while. I felt however that it should be snappier, should run faster on the super slick Mac hardware, so I innocently decided to dual-boot the machine and compare a native Linux install to what Parallels provides. Such was the case two weeks ago when I decided to ditch a virtual Linux environment running in Mac OS for a native Linux install.ĭon’t get me wrong, running Linux using a virtual environment like Parallels is a pleasant and pretty smooth experience.

switching graphics cards arch linux macbook pro

Specifically trivial, unimportant problems. I also suffer from an occasional obsessive disorder with regards to problem solving. But it’s still my favorite operating system, and over the years I have grown accustom to its quirks and shortcomings. It can be impractical, annoying, even infuriating. I have been using Linux as my primary desktop environment for a long time.












Switching graphics cards arch linux macbook pro